Himalayan Prayer Flags

I purchased these particular prayer flags from a vendor in a small village along the Anapurna circuit in Nepal.  They came as a package deal along with a singing bowl and meditation cymbals.  Although I could have acquired all this stuff for a fraction of the price in Kathmandu, I felt like they would maintain more symbolic value to me if I purchase them while trekking in the Himalayas.  Anyhow, I haggled for at least 20 mins with the vendor.  Much of this included her telling me her remarkable story of how her family had fled Tibet and what her life had been like in Nepal.  Eventually we agreed on a reasonable price and she gave me a friendship bracelet to thank me for the purchase.

There were three sets of prayer flags in all.  I still have one.  I passed another along to a gentlemen who hosted a yoga retreat I attended last fall, and then there’s this one, which I am paying forward to anyone who thinks they have a perfect spot for their prayers to blow in the wind to whomever might be listening.

— hand delivered in NYC via Canada

Exchange Story

Leave a Reply

